Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

I’d initially heard of the author mentioned in a best books list on http://www.goodreads.com (Rowell’s Landline has made the Best Book of 2014 list). My interest now, thoroughly peeked, commence the research on all things Rainbow Rowell! I see brilliantly interesting titles like Landline, Eleanor & Park and finally chose Fangirl as my frist read for Rowell. I’m a TwiHard fan, TwiNerd etc etc. so naturally I immediately related to the title ‘Fangirl’ of the book.

This is a coming of age story about two twin sisters, Cather and Wren. Cather is shy and socially awkward; Wren on the other hand is friendly and sociable.  I thought it was brilliant of the author to explore two side of the coin via twin sisters. It’s safe to assume that both sisters are a product of the same background. Yet they’re journeys are totally different. What a fantastic way to show the outcome of a different path taken. How many times have we wondered what if I did this differently or that differently; how may my life have been different now? Rowell shows us, literally through Cath and Wren.

Along with the life lessons you learn in Fangirl, you also feel an infallible positivity throughout the whole book. Life lessons, positivity and happy endings may be a common ingredient in YA books however Rainbow Rowell did this with lots of tact and adds a fresh feel to it. You constantly see people coming together to help each other and you gradually see a new type of family being shaped. You see an authority figure’s constant battle with a mental illness and he “wins” with the support system built strongly on family values.

Overall, I’d say I enjoyed the book and I am looking forwards to reading Landline and Eleanor and Park.

Below is a visual treat for those of you who have read the book already and a teaser for potential readers.

Leave a Reply

