Reading Super Powers

I think my older son has reading super powers. This March, his class is taking part in a competition to see how many days they can sit and read for at least 20 minutes.  He’s in first grade – this is no easy thing for a feisty first grader. But he’s doing really well. We’ve done 20 minutes a day for more then half of March (and counting). But I think he’s got Reading Super Powers! The boy zooms through books in 5 of those allotted 20 minutes. I’m literally running out of material for him to read. Thank god his Highlights magazine came in yesterday and kept him busy for another 5 minutes.

The speed reading, he definitely didn’t get from me. Whether consciously or not, I am a slow reader. I read, I contemplate and then decide if I’ve liked what I’ve just read or not. To date the only two books/series I’ve devoured are Twilight by Stephanie Meyers and Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts.  I couldn’t wait to be on the other side of the story with these two.

Don’t get me wrong I have plenty a folk who finish off books in one night. My son is quickly turning into one of them. I wonder though, does speed reading take away from the overall experience of the book? Which kind of reader are you?  Do share!

3 thoughts on “Reading Super Powers

  1. I’m definitely a speed reader. I usually finish novels in a day with taking breaks. Or at least I used to- I can’t remember the last time I was able to read a book what with two little kids etc. :/

    Its never been a conscious habit to be a speed reader; I think it just came from being a voracious reader from an early age. I still think about what I’ve read haha. We (my older brother and I) used to get talked to by our parents because we would go places and spend the whole evening reading the other kids’ books instead of playing with them! I need to ask my mom how she instilled such a strong love of reading in us- I really want Gabe and Aali to have that same connection and passion for books. How did you do it for your two?

    Like

    • HA! Did you really go over and read other kids’ books? heheh I developed that habit as an adult. I can’t help put touch books if they are in the room.

      With my kids, we used to (not so much anymore) read a short book before we went to bed. I would always make voices and all. We read lots of Mo Williams and Nancy Tillman. Trust me you can pick up ANY Nancy Tillman book and it’ll be a hit!

      I’d Know You Anywhere my Love did it for Ayman. He fell in love with books after that. You’re kids are younger but I think its the perfect time to start them up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

