FIP Book Review: The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

In true FIP style, this may be more of a book rant then a review.  I found this book before it was released, I pre-ordered it on amazon.com and forgot about it.  The book arrived as a surprise.  I have to admit I didn’t dig in immediately especially after reading some very bad reviews on goodreads.com  —- but you know what they say …never judge a book by its review ….errr or something like that.

What a fantastic book!  Go buy a copy – DO NOT BORROW OR READ ONLINE. Buy a copy that you can feel, smell and keep.  The Opposite of Loneliness is a composition of stories and essays by a Yale undergraduate, Marina Keegan.   I personally was blown away at the vastness of Keegan’s experiences at such a young age.  I tried  to think back to when I was an undergraduate student and not only did my writing not come close to Keegan’s expert penmanship but I also lacked the insight on life displayed by this young lady.  Sadly Marina Keegan lost her life in a car accident a few days after graduation.  This is a great tragedy and loss to the literary society.

I found something eerily sad in all her stories, as if somewhere subconsciously she knew that she had a short time to love, live and learn.  So very evident the poem that starts the book off:

Do you wanna leave soon?

No, I want enough time to be in love with everything…

And I cry because everything is so beautiful and so short.

Every story ends how you wouldn’t expect it to.. every story makes you see things just a little differently.

Threw her non fiction, you see her vibrant personality and thoughtful spirit. If the other products of Yale are half as bright as Keegan, I want my kids to go nowhere else.  Actually, interesting we come to this point.  Before now I’ve never closely known an Ivy League graduate; this may be the closet I’ve gotten inside of an Ivy League brain and man does it tick differently. Not to say there is anything wrong with Rutgers, they’ve produced some awesome folks (I know first hand) but does an Ivy League education really refine one to think outside the box?

2 thoughts on “FIP Book Review: The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

Leave a Reply

