FIP Review: The Singular and Extraordinary Tale of Mirror and Goliath

The Singular and Extraordinary Tale of Mirror and Goliath

Author: Ishbelle Bee

Goodreads Summary: 

1888. A little girl called Mirror and her shape-shifting guardian Goliath Honeyflower are washed up on the shores of Victorian England. Something has been wrong with Mirror since the day her grandfather locked her inside a mysterious clock that was painted all over with ladybirds. Mirror does not know what she is, but she knows she is no longer human.

John Loveheart, meanwhile, was not born wicked. But after the sinister death of his parents, he was taken by Mr. Fingers, the demon lord of the underworld. Some say he is mad. John would be inclined to agree.

Now Mr Fingers is determined to find the little girl called Mirror, whose flesh he intends to eat, and whose soul is the key to his eternal reign. And John Loveheart has been called by his otherworldly father to help him track Mirror down…

FIP Review: 

Wow!  Just Wow!  Mirror and Goliath is not a book that I would normally pick up, but there was something about the cover that caught my eye. So much for not judging a book by its cover eh?   Whatever the reason, I am so glad that I picked it up.  The writing is absolutely lyrical, the story telling gripping and the characters magical.   I love how Bee’s mind works.  She doesn’t just tell a story, she builds a world of interconnected characters and histories.  She wakes up the reader with her unconventional style. She gives you enough back story to see gray where you know you should be seeing black.  By the end of the tale, Mr. Loveheart, a whimsical murderer — shows heroic traits. And just as quickly as you see the good in him, Mirror cuts him off – reminding us that there was a reason why she thinks him unworthy of another visit.

All the characters are surely three dimensional, including Mirror and Goliath.  I have to say though, I’m left a little uneasy with the rushed maturing of Mirror and transformation of her relationship with Goliath. I want some input on how you guys read this.[SPOILER]  I think it turned romantic – but I got an weird vibe from it.  [/SPOILER]I liked them in the beginning.  I understand that Mirror was never really just a 5/6 yr old girl but really? Goliath?! and Egyptian Princess?

Apologies for the spoiler, I’m trying to tell you guys about the story without…. telling you the story.

Overall, I liked the booked. I’d say go grab it, its short its quick and it plain old fun. There aren’t lessons to learn here – just a classic tale of Good vs Evil.

3 thoughts on “FIP Review: The Singular and Extraordinary Tale of Mirror and Goliath

  1. I felt the same way about Mirror and Goliath’s relationship at the end; mostly I wondered if she had aged mentally as well as physically (which would be weird if she didn’t)! Otherwise I absolutely loved it 🙂
    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I see what you mean about mental growth. I read that as she was always the (adult/young lady) Princess trapped inside of Mirror’s body. So she was always mentally mature. Thinking back, she never really acted like a child.

      PS – I was looking for a pic of the cover and ran into your blog. I loved your review so much that I considered just re-blogging it. You were so on point with the review. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ohhh, I (clearly) didn’t think of it that way, but that makes a lot of sense!
        Thank you so much, I appreciate that!! I’m glad you enjoyed it (both the book and my review!)! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

