FIP Recipe – English Scones

scone1

The last book we reviewed was Mirror and Goliath – the book was set up in 18th century London. I thought, what a great idea it would be to essay a recipe from that time period. So off went FIP into the digital world looking for an 18th century English recipe.  Good lord, now I know why the author chose to set her story here. What a dark time! Almost all the recipes I found involved some level of animal blood.  Check this site out for fun.  And I use “fun” very loosely.

Then an idea struck me!  One of my favorite bloggers, AAGMA keeps mentioning real scones (vs the stuff we buy at Starbucks). I have to admit, I can’t stand those scones either, but I didn’t know any better – I couldn’t tell apart an authentic scone if it slapped me in the mouth.  So I found a recipe for a British scone, proper with Brit measuring.  And my loves – they were a hit! My 7yr old had two in one sitting.  I think I can make them prettier next time. My impatience makes me a terrible baker.  But here goes.

Link: Scone Recipe

Ingredients

This quantity will make 8 scones.  The link above is in metric, I’ve converted to imperial.

1 Cup plain flour
4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup butter
1/4 caster sugar (I used more then the recipe recommended. I find powdered sugar slightly less sweet)
1/2 cup milk (slightly more, the measurement conversation say 0.634 cups of milk – do what you will)
1 medium egg

s2

Preparation

Preheat oven to 450°F / 230°C / gas 8 and lightly grease a baking tray.

Sift flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl and rub in the butter until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.

Stir in the sugar. Add all the milk and mix lightly into a soft dough.

Turn the dough out onto a floured board and knead briefly. Do not overwork the dough or your scones will be tough!

Roll the dough out to 1.25cm / 1/2 in thickness and cut out rounds.

Place on the greased baking tray. Brush the tops with beaten egg and bake for 7-10 minutes or until well risen and golden brown.

Cool on a wire rack.

s3

4 thoughts on “FIP Recipe – English Scones

Leave a Reply

