From Books to TV – The Magicians

 

book-magicians

I don’t think we’ve talked about The Magicians Trilogy here on FIP but we should.  This is one of the darkest books I’ve ever read. I’d compare it to Harry Potter except I hate that HP has somehow become the Godfather benchmark on stories about magic.   But yeh, The Magicians has a school, has two boys and a girl – maybe one spare girl and lots of drugs, sex and an atheist undertone.  This book took my brains places far from fields of daffodils and pretty unicorns, it made me think of rapist gods, twisted people who own every dark corner of themselves, and of ugly sacrifices that go unappreciated. I loved it! Very smartly written and executed.  The author writes so you are satisfied at the end of each book but leaves out enough that you get the next.

I digress, this is not why I am writing today.  I write to tell you that SyFy channel has adopted the series for TV. I watched the first episode yesterday.  I read the first two books when they came out and have yet to work up the gall to finish the series. From what I remember about the books, the tv series is trying hard to stay true to the writing but is being strong armed into giving away certain pivotal clues (as early as the very first scene).

I wanted to scream! In the first 5 minutes, there was a clue to solving one of the best kept secrets in the book.  The characters are already coming becoming the people it took me 802 pages to find. WHY WHY WHY. I know why, we must entertain — always. Even if it is at the expense of our intelligence.

That being said, it’s surreal to see Quentin Coldwater. The casting and costume is pretty on point.

Who am I kidding, I’ll watch episode 2 ….and 3… and 4…. and gahhhhh.

 

Episode 1:

Leave a Reply

